Quick answer
Most states let family members collect a loved one’s property without full probate when the estate is small enough, usually with a sworn form called a small estate affidavit.
The limit ranges from about $15,000 to $400,000 depending on the state, and more than a dozen states raised theirs in 2025 or 2026.
Only property in the person’s name alone counts. Accounts with a named beneficiary, joint accounts, and trust assets usually don’t.
Many charts online still show old numbers. Check the figure that applies to the date of death.
Estimate your total and see your state’s figure →
Bank refused your affidavit? Go straight to what to do →
- What counts
- 2025–2026 changes
- All 51 states
- Real estate
- If there's a will
- Waiting periods
- Bank refused
- Your liability
State figures verified October 20, 2026. Limits change, so confirm with your state court before you sign.
Small Estate Calculator: Estimate Your Total and See Your State’s Figure
This estimates what counts toward your state’s limit and compares it to the figure for the date of death. Everything stays on this page. Please don’t enter names, account numbers, or Social Security numbers.
What Is Considered a Small Estate?
A small estate is one whose probate assets fall at or under your state’s dollar limit, which lets family collect the property with a sworn form or a lighter court filing instead of full probate.
The tool goes by many names: small estate affidavit, affidavit for collection of personal property, transfer by affidavit, summary administration, voluntary administration, small succession in Louisiana, release from administration in Ohio, and Limited Letters in Tennessee.
There are two families. In some states you hand a sworn affidavit straight to the bank, as in California, Colorado, Illinois and Washington. In others you go through a lighter court process, as in Florida, Alabama, Tennessee, and Texas, where a judge approves the affidavit.
A small estate affidavit lets you avoid probate only for the property it covers. It doesn’t make debts disappear, and it doesn’t replace the probate process for anything over the limit.
What Changed in 2025 and 2026
More than a dozen states raised their figures in 2025 or 2026, and several doubled, so a chart older than 2025 is probably wrong for your state.
Arizona went from $75,000 to $200,000 for personal property. Wyoming doubled to $400,000. Florida doubled its summary administration figure to $150,000 on July 1, 2026. Delaware, Iowa and Illinois also rose.
Many online charts still show pre-2025 numbers. Check the date on any chart, and check the figure against your state court’s own page.
| State | Old | New | Effective | Applies by |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arizona | $75,000 personal / $100,000 real | $200,000 personal / $300,000 real | September 26, 2025 | Date of the affidavit |
| California | $184,500 | $208,850 | April 1, 2025 | Date of death |
| Delaware | $30,000 | $50,000 | June 10, 2026 | Date of death (New Castle County; others unconfirmed) |
| District of Columbia | $40,000 (court track) | $80,000 (court track); new $40,000 affidavit | March 21, 2025 | Not stated; ask the court |
| Florida (summary administration, a court process) | $75,000 | $150,000 | July 1, 2026 | Sources conflict: date of death or filing |
| Illinois | $100,000 | $150,000 (registered vehicles excluded) | August 15, 2025 | Date of death |
| Iowa | $50,000 | $100,000 | July 1, 2026 | Not stated for earlier deaths |
| Louisiana | $125,000 | $200,000 | August 1, 2026 | Not stated for earlier deaths |
| Nevada (surviving spouse) | $100,000 | $150,000 | October 1, 2025 | Sources differ: filing or death |
| North Dakota | $50,000 | $100,000 | August 1, 2025 | Not stated for earlier deaths |
| Oklahoma (summary administration, a court petition) | $200,000 | $300,000 | August 12, 2026 | Not stated |
| South Carolina | $25,000 | $45,000 | May 8, 2025 | Date of death |
| Virginia | $50,000 | $75,000 | July 1, 2025 | Not stated for earlier deaths; ask the holder |
| Wyoming | $200,000 | $400,000 | July 1, 2025 | Date of death |
State: Arizona
Old: $75,000 personal / $100,000 real
New: $200,000 personal / $300,000 real
Effective: September 26, 2025
Applies by: Date of the affidavit
State: California
Old: $184,500
New: $208,850
Effective: April 1, 2025
Applies by: Date of death
State: Delaware
Old: $30,000
New: $50,000
Effective: June 10, 2026
Applies by: Date of death (New Castle County; others unconfirmed)
State: District of Columbia
Old: $40,000 (court track)
New: $80,000 (court track); new $40,000 affidavit
Effective: March 21, 2025
Applies by: Not stated; ask the court
State: Florida (summary administration, a court process)
Old: $75,000
New: $150,000
Effective: July 1, 2026
Applies by: Sources conflict: date of death or filing
State: Illinois
Old: $100,000
New: $150,000 (registered vehicles excluded)
Effective: August 15, 2025
Applies by: Date of death
State: Iowa
Old: $50,000
New: $100,000
Effective: July 1, 2026
Applies by: Not stated for earlier deaths
State: Louisiana
Old: $125,000
New: $200,000
Effective: August 1, 2026
Applies by: Not stated for earlier deaths
State: Nevada (surviving spouse)
Old: $100,000
New: $150,000
Effective: October 1, 2025
Applies by: Sources differ: filing or death
State: North Dakota
Old: $50,000
New: $100,000
Effective: August 1, 2025
Applies by: Not stated for earlier deaths
State: Oklahoma (summary administration, a court petition)
Old: $200,000
New: $300,000
Effective: August 12, 2026
Applies by: Not stated
State: South Carolina
Old: $25,000
New: $45,000
Effective: May 8, 2025
Applies by: Date of death
State: Virginia
Old: $50,000
New: $75,000
Effective: July 1, 2025
Applies by: Not stated for earlier deaths; ask the holder
State: Wyoming
Old: $200,000
New: $400,000
Effective: July 1, 2025
Applies by: Date of death
California did not change in 2026. It is $208,850 for deaths on or after April 1, 2025. Some websites show $239,700, but the Judicial Council’s published list says the next adjustment is April 1, 2028.
Many states use the date of death, including California, Wyoming, Delaware and Illinois. Arizona and Texas look at the date of the affidavit. For Florida, Iowa, Louisiana, North Dakota, Nevada and Virginia, the law or the sources leave earlier deaths unclear, so ask before you rely on a newer, higher figure.
Some states adjust automatically: Alabama, California (every three years), Colorado, Maine and Michigan. For those, use the figure for the year of death.
What Counts Toward the Limit — and What Doesn’t
Only property in the person’s name alone counts toward the limit, so accounts with a named beneficiary, joint accounts with survivorship, and trust assets usually pass outside probate and don’t count.
COUNTS: assets in the person’s name alone with no beneficiary, such as a regular checking account, a final paycheck, or a tax refund.
DOESN’T COUNT: beneficiary-designated accounts and policies, joint accounts with survivorship, and trust-owned assets.
DEPENDS ON YOUR STATE: real estate, vehicles, exempt property, and liens.
Only property in the person’s name alone counts toward the limit. Joint ownership versus a POD beneficiary decides a lot. See adding someone to your bank account.
Some states measure the estate net of liens, such as Arizona, Colorado and Washington. Others use gross value, such as California and Louisiana. Value everything as of the date of death.
Some property is exempt. Texas leaves the homestead and exempt property out of its $75,000. Florida generally leaves homestead out of its $150,000.
Insurance and unclaimed money are common blind spots. See how to find a deceased person’s life insurance and how to find unclaimed money.
| Asset | Usually counts? | Why | What to do instead |
|---|---|---|---|
| Checking or savings account in the person's name alone | COUNTS | It has no beneficiary or survivor, so it passes through probate. | Collect it with the small estate procedure if the total is under your state’s figure. |
| POD (payable-on-death) account | DOESN'T COUNT | It passes to the named beneficiary by contract. | The beneficiary claims it from the bank with a death certificate and ID. See adding someone to your bank account. |
| Joint account with survivorship | DOESN'T COUNT | The surviving owner already owns it. | Ask the bank to retitle it in the survivor’s name. |
| Life insurance with a named beneficiary | DOESN'T COUNT | It pays the beneficiary directly. If it is payable to the estate, it does count. | The beneficiary files a claim with the insurer. See how to find a deceased person’s life insurance. |
| 401(k) or IRA with a named beneficiary | DOESN'T COUNT | It passes by beneficiary designation. | Contact the plan administrator. See inherited IRA rules and beneficiary designations after divorce. |
| Car titled in the person's name alone | DEPENDS ON YOUR STATE | Some states leave registered vehicles out of the count, and many have a separate DMV form. | Check your state’s rule and ask the DMV for its form. |
| House in the person's name alone | DEPENDS ON YOUR STATE | Some states disqualify the whole estate, some count it but can't transfer it, and some have a separate procedure. | See the real estate section. |
| House with a transfer-on-death deed | DOESN'T COUNT | It usually passes to the named beneficiary under the deed. | Record the death certificate as your state requires. Rules vary. |
| Assets held in a trust | DOESN'T COUNT | The trust owns them, not the person. | The trustee follows the trust document. |
| Final paycheck or money owed to the person | COUNTS | It is owed to the estate. Some states let an employer pay a small amount straight to family. | Ask the employer what your state allows. See how to find unclaimed money. |
| Income tax refund | COUNTS | It is owed to the estate. Florida lets a spouse or child claim up to $5,000 without administration. | Check your state’s rule for refunds. |
Asset: Checking or savings account in the person's name alone
Usually counts?: COUNTS
Why: It has no beneficiary or survivor, so it passes through probate.
What to do instead: Collect it with the small estate procedure if the total is under your state’s figure.
Asset: POD (payable-on-death) account
Usually counts?: DOESN'T COUNT
Why: It passes to the named beneficiary by contract.
What to do instead: The beneficiary claims it from the bank with a death certificate and ID. See adding someone to your bank account.
Asset: Joint account with survivorship
Usually counts?: DOESN'T COUNT
Why: The surviving owner already owns it.
What to do instead: Ask the bank to retitle it in the survivor’s name.
Asset: Life insurance with a named beneficiary
Usually counts?: DOESN'T COUNT
Why: It pays the beneficiary directly. If it is payable to the estate, it does count.
What to do instead: The beneficiary files a claim with the insurer. See how to find a deceased person’s life insurance.
Asset: 401(k) or IRA with a named beneficiary
Usually counts?: DOESN'T COUNT
Why: It passes by beneficiary designation.
What to do instead: Contact the plan administrator. See inherited IRA rules and beneficiary designations after divorce.
Asset: Car titled in the person's name alone
Usually counts?: DEPENDS ON YOUR STATE
Why: Some states leave registered vehicles out of the count, and many have a separate DMV form.
What to do instead: Check your state’s rule and ask the DMV for its form.
Asset: House in the person's name alone
Usually counts?: DEPENDS ON YOUR STATE
Why: Some states disqualify the whole estate, some count it but can't transfer it, and some have a separate procedure.
What to do instead: See the real estate section.
Asset: House with a transfer-on-death deed
Usually counts?: DOESN'T COUNT
Why: It usually passes to the named beneficiary under the deed.
What to do instead: Record the death certificate as your state requires. Rules vary.
Asset: Assets held in a trust
Usually counts?: DOESN'T COUNT
Why: The trust owns them, not the person.
What to do instead: The trustee follows the trust document.
Asset: Final paycheck or money owed to the person
Usually counts?: COUNTS
Why: It is owed to the estate. Some states let an employer pay a small amount straight to family.
What to do instead: Ask the employer what your state allows. See how to find unclaimed money.
Asset: Income tax refund
Usually counts?: COUNTS
Why: It is owed to the estate. Florida lets a spouse or child claim up to $5,000 without administration.
What to do instead: Check your state’s rule for refunds.
How Much Can an Estate Be Without Probate? All 51 Jurisdictions
The limits run from about $15,000 to $400,000, so look up your state below and then confirm with your state court.
On a phone, open a group and then your state. On a larger screen, the full table is below. Statute references are for the procedure named in each row.
States A–I (16)
Alabama — $47,000 (indexed; $51,175 from 4/1/2027)
Waiting period: 30 days after notice is published and after Medicaid is notified
Court involvement: Court petition + order
Real estate: Owning real estate disqualifies
Will: Both
Statute: Ala. Code §§ 43-2-690 to 43-2-698
Checked: October 20, 2026
Alaska — $50,000 (vehicles up to $100,000 handled separately)
Waiting period: 30 days
Court involvement: No
Real estate: Not transferred
Will: Both
Statute: AS 13.16.680
Checked: Pending
Arizona — $200,000 personal property; $300,000 real property
Waiting period: 30 days (personal) / 6 months (real property)
Court involvement: No (personal) / real property affidavit filed in court
Real estate: Separate affidavit
Will: Both
Statute: A.R.S. § 14-3971
Checked: October 20, 2026
Arkansas — $100,000 real + personal (homestead left out)
Waiting period: 45 days
Court involvement: Filed with clerk
Real estate: Yes, with publication
Will: Both
Statute: Ark. Code § 28-41-101
Checked: October 20, 2026
California — $208,850 (deaths on or after 4/1/2025)
Waiting period: 40 days
Court involvement: No
Real estate: Counted, not transferred; separate $69,625 affidavit and $750,000 residence petition
Will: Both
Statute: Prob. Code §§ 13100, 13200, 13151
Checked: October 20, 2026
Colorado — $88,000 (2026 deaths; indexed yearly)
Waiting period: 10 days
Court involvement: No
Real estate: Not transferred
Will: Both
Statute: C.R.S. § 15-12-1201
Checked: October 20, 2026
Connecticut — $40,000
Waiting period: Court decree after 30-day notice to the state
Court involvement: Probate court filing
Real estate: Any solely owned real estate disqualifies
Will: Both, with conditions
Statute: C.G.S. § 45a-273
Checked: October 20, 2026
Delaware — $50,000 (deaths on or after 6/10/2026); $30,000 before
Waiting period: 30 days
Court involvement: No court; the county Register of Wills issues it
Real estate: Owning Delaware real estate disqualifies
Will: Both
Statute: 12 Del. C. § 2306
Checked: October 20, 2026
District of Columbia — $40,000 affidavit; $80,000 court track
Waiting period: 60 days
Court involvement: No (affidavit) / Yes (court track)
Real estate: No real property at all
Will: Both
Statute: D.C. Code §§ 20-361, 20-351
Checked: October 20, 2026
Florida — $150,000 summary administration (eff. 7/1/2026), or dead 2+ years
Waiting period: None set; a court order comes first
Court involvement: Court petition + order
Real estate: Yes (homestead generally left out)
Will: Both
Statute: Fla. Stat. § 735.201
Checked: October 20, 2026
Georgia — No cap (heirs agree, court) / $15,000 bank affidavit
Waiting period: None fixed for the bank affidavit
Court involvement: Court / No (bank affidavit)
Real estate: Court route only
Will: Without a will only
Statute: O.C.G.A. §§ 53-2-40, 7-1-239
Checked: October 20, 2026
Hawaii — $100,000 (vehicles excluded)
Waiting period: None
Court involvement: No
Real estate: Clerk track only
Will: Both
Statute: HRS § 560:3-1201
Checked: October 20, 2026
Idaho — $100,000
Waiting period: 30 days
Court involvement: No
Real estate: Not transferred
Will: Both
Statute: Idaho Code § 15-3-1201
Checked: October 20, 2026
Illinois — $150,000 personal (vehicles excluded; narrows for deaths on or after 1/1/2027)
Waiting period: None in the statute
Court involvement: No
Real estate: Not transferred, not counted
Will: Both
Statute: 755 ILCS 5/25-1
Checked: October 20, 2026
Indiana — $100,000 (deaths after 6/30/2022)
Waiting period: 45 days
Court involvement: No
Real estate: Counted; separate fiduciary track
Will: Both
Statute: IC 29-1-8-1
Checked: October 20, 2026
Iowa — $100,000 personal property (eff. 7/1/2026)
Waiting period: 40 days
Court involvement: No
Real estate: Any real estate disqualifies
Will: Both
Statute: Iowa Code § 633.356
Checked: October 20, 2026
States K–M (11)
Kansas — $75,000
Waiting period: None
Court involvement: No
Real estate: Not transferred
Will: Both
Statute: K.S.A. 59-1507b
Checked: October 20, 2026
Kentucky — $30,000 (spouse/children exemption)
Waiting period: Not set in our survey
Court involvement: Court petition
Real estate: Not transferred
Will: Both
Statute: KRS 391.030, 395.455
Checked: Pending
Louisiana — $200,000 (eff. 8/1/2026)
Waiting period: None (30 days' notice to heirs who do not sign)
Court involvement: No (most cases)
Real estate: Yes, in some affidavits
Will: Both, via different forms
Statute: La. C.C.P. arts. 3421, 3432, 3432.1
Checked: October 20, 2026
Maine — $52,500 (2026 deaths; indexed)
Waiting period: 30 days
Court involvement: No
Real estate: Not transferred
Will: Both
Statute: 18-C M.R.S. § 3-1201
Checked: October 20, 2026
Maryland — $50,000 ($100,000 if spouse is sole heir)
Waiting period: None set
Court involvement: Court petition
Real estate: Yes
Will: Both
Statute: Est. & Trusts § 5-601
Checked: October 20, 2026
Massachusetts — $25,000 + one vehicle
Waiting period: 30 days
Court involvement: Filed with probate court
Real estate: Any solely owned real estate disqualifies
Will: Both
Statute: M.G.L. c. 190B § 3-1201
Checked: October 20, 2026
Michigan — $53,000 (2026 deaths; indexed)
Waiting period: 28 days
Court involvement: No (affidavit)
Real estate: Disqualifies the affidavit
Will: Both
Statute: MCL 700.3983
Checked: October 20, 2026
Minnesota — $75,000
Waiting period: 30 days
Court involvement: No
Real estate: Not transferred
Will: Both
Statute: Minn. Stat. § 524.3-1201
Checked: October 20, 2026
Mississippi — $75,000 (real estate counted)
Waiting period: 30 days
Court involvement: No
Real estate: Counted, not transferred
Will: Both
Statute: Miss. Code § 91-7-322
Checked: October 20, 2026
Missouri — $40,000 real + personal
Waiting period: 30 days
Court involvement: Filed with clerk + bond
Real estate: Yes
Will: Both
Statute: RSMo § 473.097
Checked: October 20, 2026
Montana — $100,000
Waiting period: 30 days
Court involvement: No
Real estate: Not transferred
Will: Both
Statute: MCA § 72-3-1101
Checked: October 20, 2026
States N (8)
Nebraska — $100,000 personal; $100,000 real
Waiting period: 30 days
Court involvement: No / recorded
Real estate: Separate affidavit
Will: Both
Statute: Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 30-24,125, 30-24,129
Checked: October 20, 2026
Nevada — $25,000 ($150,000 for a surviving spouse)
Waiting period: 40 days
Court involvement: No
Real estate: No Nevada real estate
Will: Both
Statute: NRS 146.080
Checked: October 20, 2026
New Hampshire — Court waiver; no standard affidavit figure
Waiting period: Not set in our survey
Court involvement: Court waiver
Real estate: Not applicable
Will: Both
Statute: RSA 553:32
Checked: Pending
New Jersey — $50,000 with spouse/partner; $20,000 without
Waiting period: None
Court involvement: Before the Surrogate
Real estate: Counted and transferable
Will: Without a will only
Statute: N.J.S.A. 3B:10-3, 3B:10-4
Checked: October 20, 2026
New Mexico — $50,000 (real estate counts toward it)
Waiting period: 30 days
Court involvement: No
Real estate: Counted, not transferred
Will: Both
Statute: NMSA § 45-3-1201
Checked: October 20, 2026
New York — $50,000 personal property
Waiting period: None
Court involvement: Filed with Surrogate's Court
Real estate: Not transferred
Will: Both
Statute: SCPA art. 13
Checked: October 20, 2026
North Carolina — $20,000 ($30,000 if spouse is sole heir)
Waiting period: 30 days
Court involvement: Filed with clerk
Real estate: Not transferred
Will: Both
Statute: N.C.G.S. § 28A-25-1
Checked: October 20, 2026
North Dakota — $100,000 (eff. 8/1/2025; real estate counted)
Waiting period: 30 days
Court involvement: No
Real estate: Counted, not transferred
Will: Both
Statute: N.D.C.C. § 30.1-23-01
Checked: October 20, 2026
States O–W (16)
Ohio — $35,000 ($100,000 if spouse takes all)
Waiting period: Not set in our survey
Court involvement: Court
Real estate: Yes
Will: Both
Statute: R.C. § 2113.03
Checked: October 20, 2026
Oklahoma — $50,000 affidavit; $300,000 summary (since 8/12/2026)
Waiting period: 10 days
Court involvement: No / Court (summary track)
Real estate: Summary track only
Will: Both
Statute: 58 O.S. §§ 393, 245
Checked: October 20, 2026
Oregon — $75,000 personal + $200,000 real
Waiting period: 30 days
Court involvement: Filed with probate clerk
Real estate: Yes
Will: Both
Statute: ORS 114.510
Checked: October 20, 2026
Pennsylvania — $50,000 (excluding real estate)
Waiting period: Not set in our survey
Court involvement: Orphans' Court petition
Real estate: Not transferred, not counted
Will: Both
Statute: 20 Pa.C.S. § 3102
Checked: October 20, 2026
Rhode Island — $15,000
Waiting period: 30 days
Court involvement: Probate court
Real estate: Any real estate disqualifies
Will: Both
Statute: R.I. Gen. Laws § 33-24-1
Checked: October 20, 2026
South Carolina — $45,000 (since 5/8/2025)
Waiting period: 30 days
Court involvement: Judge countersigns
Real estate: Not transferred
Will: Both
Statute: S.C. Code § 62-3-1201
Checked: October 20, 2026
South Dakota — $100,000 personal; $50,000 real
Waiting period: 30 days (personal) / 60 days (real)
Court involvement: No / recorded
Real estate: Separate affidavit
Will: Both
Statute: SDCL §§ 29A-3-1201, 29A-3-1203
Checked: October 20, 2026
Tennessee — $50,000 personal property
Waiting period: 45 days
Court involvement: Court petition (Limited Letters)
Real estate: Excluded
Will: Both
Statute: T.C.A. § 30-4-103
Checked: October 20, 2026
Texas — $75,000 (excl. homestead and exempt property)
Waiting period: 30 days
Court involvement: Judge approves
Real estate: Homestead only
Will: Without a will only
Statute: Tex. Est. Code ch. 205
Checked: October 20, 2026
Utah — $100,000
Waiting period: 30 days
Court involvement: No
Real estate: Counted, not transferred
Will: Both
Statute: Utah Code § 75-3-1201
Checked: October 20, 2026
Vermont — $45,000
Waiting period: Not set in our survey
Court involvement: Court petition
Real estate: No (except time-shares)
Will: Both
Statute: 14 V.S.A. § 1901
Checked: October 20, 2026
Virginia — $75,000 (since 7/1/2025)
Waiting period: 60 days
Court involvement: No
Real estate: Not transferred, not counted
Will: Both (a will must be filed with the circuit court)
Statute: Va. Code § 64.2-601
Checked: October 20, 2026
Washington — $100,000
Waiting period: 40 days, plus 10 days' written notice to other successors
Court involvement: No (copy to DSHS)
Real estate: Counted, not transferred
Will: Both
Statute: RCW 11.62.010
Checked: October 20, 2026
West Virginia — $50,000 personal
Waiting period: 30 days (named executor) / 60 days
Court involvement: Recorded with county clerk
Real estate: Any probate real estate disqualifies
Will: Both
Statute: W. Va. Code § 44-1A-2
Checked: October 20, 2026
Wisconsin — $50,000 gross, real + personal
Waiting period: Not set in our survey
Court involvement: No (recorded for real estate)
Real estate: Yes
Will: Both
Statute: Wis. Stat. § 867.03
Checked: October 20, 2026
Wyoming — $400,000 (deaths on or after 7/1/2025); $200,000 before
Waiting period: 30 days
Court involvement: Filed with county clerk
Real estate: Via summary distribution
Will: Both
Statute: Wyo. Stat. §§ 2-1-201, 2-1-205
Checked: October 20, 2026
| State | Figure | Wait | Court involvement | Real estate | Will | Statute | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | $47,000 (indexed; $51,175 from 4/1/2027) | 30 days after notice is published and after Medicaid is notified | Court petition + order | Owning real estate disqualifies | Both | Ala. Code §§ 43-2-690 to 43-2-698 | October 20, 2026 |
| Alaska | $50,000 (vehicles up to $100,000 handled separately) | 30 days | No | Not transferred | Both | AS 13.16.680 | Pending |
| Arizona | $200,000 personal property; $300,000 real property | 30 days (personal) / 6 months (real property) | No (personal) / real property affidavit filed in court | Separate affidavit | Both | A.R.S. § 14-3971 | October 20, 2026 |
| Arkansas | $100,000 real + personal (homestead left out) | 45 days | Filed with clerk | Yes, with publication | Both | Ark. Code § 28-41-101 | October 20, 2026 |
| California | $208,850 (deaths on or after 4/1/2025) | 40 days | No | Counted, not transferred; separate $69,625 affidavit and $750,000 residence petition | Both | Prob. Code §§ 13100, 13200, 13151 | October 20, 2026 |
| Colorado | $88,000 (2026 deaths; indexed yearly) | 10 days | No | Not transferred | Both | C.R.S. § 15-12-1201 | October 20, 2026 |
| Connecticut | $40,000 | Court decree after 30-day notice to the state | Probate court filing | Any solely owned real estate disqualifies | Both, with conditions | C.G.S. § 45a-273 | October 20, 2026 |
| Delaware | $50,000 (deaths on or after 6/10/2026); $30,000 before | 30 days | No court; the county Register of Wills issues it | Owning Delaware real estate disqualifies | Both | 12 Del. C. § 2306 | October 20, 2026 |
| District of Columbia | $40,000 affidavit; $80,000 court track | 60 days | No (affidavit) / Yes (court track) | No real property at all | Both | D.C. Code §§ 20-361, 20-351 | October 20, 2026 |
| Florida | $150,000 summary administration (eff. 7/1/2026), or dead 2+ years | None set; a court order comes first | Court petition + order | Yes (homestead generally left out) | Both | Fla. Stat. § 735.201 | October 20, 2026 |
| Georgia | No cap (heirs agree, court) / $15,000 bank affidavit | None fixed for the bank affidavit | Court / No (bank affidavit) | Court route only | Without a will only | O.C.G.A. §§ 53-2-40, 7-1-239 | October 20, 2026 |
| Hawaii | $100,000 (vehicles excluded) | None | No | Clerk track only | Both | HRS § 560:3-1201 | October 20, 2026 |
| Idaho | $100,000 | 30 days | No | Not transferred | Both | Idaho Code § 15-3-1201 | October 20, 2026 |
| Illinois | $150,000 personal (vehicles excluded; narrows for deaths on or after 1/1/2027) | None in the statute | No | Not transferred, not counted | Both | 755 ILCS 5/25-1 | October 20, 2026 |
| Indiana | $100,000 (deaths after 6/30/2022) | 45 days | No | Counted; separate fiduciary track | Both | IC 29-1-8-1 | October 20, 2026 |
| Iowa | $100,000 personal property (eff. 7/1/2026) | 40 days | No | Any real estate disqualifies | Both | Iowa Code § 633.356 | October 20, 2026 |
| Kansas | $75,000 | None | No | Not transferred | Both | K.S.A. 59-1507b | October 20, 2026 |
| Kentucky | $30,000 (spouse/children exemption) | Not set in our survey | Court petition | Not transferred | Both | KRS 391.030, 395.455 | Pending |
| Louisiana | $200,000 (eff. 8/1/2026) | None (30 days' notice to heirs who do not sign) | No (most cases) | Yes, in some affidavits | Both, via different forms | La. C.C.P. arts. 3421, 3432, 3432.1 | October 20, 2026 |
| Maine | $52,500 (2026 deaths; indexed) | 30 days | No | Not transferred | Both | 18-C M.R.S. § 3-1201 | October 20, 2026 |
| Maryland | $50,000 ($100,000 if spouse is sole heir) | None set | Court petition | Yes | Both | Est. & Trusts § 5-601 | October 20, 2026 |
| Massachusetts | $25,000 + one vehicle | 30 days | Filed with probate court | Any solely owned real estate disqualifies | Both | M.G.L. c. 190B § 3-1201 | October 20, 2026 |
| Michigan | $53,000 (2026 deaths; indexed) | 28 days | No (affidavit) | Disqualifies the affidavit | Both | MCL 700.3983 | October 20, 2026 |
| Minnesota | $75,000 | 30 days | No | Not transferred | Both | Minn. Stat. § 524.3-1201 | October 20, 2026 |
| Mississippi | $75,000 (real estate counted) | 30 days | No | Counted, not transferred | Both | Miss. Code § 91-7-322 | October 20, 2026 |
| Missouri | $40,000 real + personal | 30 days | Filed with clerk + bond | Yes | Both | RSMo § 473.097 | October 20, 2026 |
| Montana | $100,000 | 30 days | No | Not transferred | Both | MCA § 72-3-1101 | October 20, 2026 |
| Nebraska | $100,000 personal; $100,000 real | 30 days | No / recorded | Separate affidavit | Both | Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 30-24,125, 30-24,129 | October 20, 2026 |
| Nevada | $25,000 ($150,000 for a surviving spouse) | 40 days | No | No Nevada real estate | Both | NRS 146.080 | October 20, 2026 |
| New Hampshire | Court waiver; no standard affidavit figure | Not set in our survey | Court waiver | Not applicable | Both | RSA 553:32 | Pending |
| New Jersey | $50,000 with spouse/partner; $20,000 without | None | Before the Surrogate | Counted and transferable | Without a will only | N.J.S.A. 3B:10-3, 3B:10-4 | October 20, 2026 |
| New Mexico | $50,000 (real estate counts toward it) | 30 days | No | Counted, not transferred | Both | NMSA § 45-3-1201 | October 20, 2026 |
| New York | $50,000 personal property | None | Filed with Surrogate's Court | Not transferred | Both | SCPA art. 13 | October 20, 2026 |
| North Carolina | $20,000 ($30,000 if spouse is sole heir) | 30 days | Filed with clerk | Not transferred | Both | N.C.G.S. § 28A-25-1 | October 20, 2026 |
| North Dakota | $100,000 (eff. 8/1/2025; real estate counted) | 30 days | No | Counted, not transferred | Both | N.D.C.C. § 30.1-23-01 | October 20, 2026 |
| Ohio | $35,000 ($100,000 if spouse takes all) | Not set in our survey | Court | Yes | Both | R.C. § 2113.03 | October 20, 2026 |
| Oklahoma | $50,000 affidavit; $300,000 summary (since 8/12/2026) | 10 days | No / Court (summary track) | Summary track only | Both | 58 O.S. §§ 393, 245 | October 20, 2026 |
| Oregon | $75,000 personal + $200,000 real | 30 days | Filed with probate clerk | Yes | Both | ORS 114.510 | October 20, 2026 |
| Pennsylvania | $50,000 (excluding real estate) | Not set in our survey | Orphans' Court petition | Not transferred, not counted | Both | 20 Pa.C.S. § 3102 | October 20, 2026 |
| Rhode Island | $15,000 | 30 days | Probate court | Any real estate disqualifies | Both | R.I. Gen. Laws § 33-24-1 | October 20, 2026 |
| South Carolina | $45,000 (since 5/8/2025) | 30 days | Judge countersigns | Not transferred | Both | S.C. Code § 62-3-1201 | October 20, 2026 |
| South Dakota | $100,000 personal; $50,000 real | 30 days (personal) / 60 days (real) | No / recorded | Separate affidavit | Both | SDCL §§ 29A-3-1201, 29A-3-1203 | October 20, 2026 |
| Tennessee | $50,000 personal property | 45 days | Court petition (Limited Letters) | Excluded | Both | T.C.A. § 30-4-103 | October 20, 2026 |
| Texas | $75,000 (excl. homestead and exempt property) | 30 days | Judge approves | Homestead only | Without a will only | Tex. Est. Code ch. 205 | October 20, 2026 |
| Utah | $100,000 | 30 days | No | Counted, not transferred | Both | Utah Code § 75-3-1201 | October 20, 2026 |
| Vermont | $45,000 | Not set in our survey | Court petition | No (except time-shares) | Both | 14 V.S.A. § 1901 | October 20, 2026 |
| Virginia | $75,000 (since 7/1/2025) | 60 days | No | Not transferred, not counted | Both (a will must be filed with the circuit court) | Va. Code § 64.2-601 | October 20, 2026 |
| Washington | $100,000 | 40 days, plus 10 days' written notice to other successors | No (copy to DSHS) | Counted, not transferred | Both | RCW 11.62.010 | October 20, 2026 |
| West Virginia | $50,000 personal | 30 days (named executor) / 60 days | Recorded with county clerk | Any probate real estate disqualifies | Both | W. Va. Code § 44-1A-2 | October 20, 2026 |
| Wisconsin | $50,000 gross, real + personal | Not set in our survey | No (recorded for real estate) | Yes | Both | Wis. Stat. § 867.03 | October 20, 2026 |
| Wyoming | $400,000 (deaths on or after 7/1/2025); $200,000 before | 30 days | Filed with county clerk | Via summary distribution | Both | Wyo. Stat. §§ 2-1-201, 2-1-205 | October 20, 2026 |
Small estate affidavit Texas
Texas allows a small estate affidavit for estates of $75,000 or less, not counting the homestead and exempt property. The affidavit is filed with the probate court and a judge approves it. It can't be used if there is a will, you wait 30 days, and the estate is measured on the date of the affidavit.
Small estate affidavit California
California's limit is $208,850 for deaths on or after April 1, 2025. There is no 2026 change, and the next adjustment is April 1, 2028. You wait 40 days, and the personal property affidavit isn't filed with a court. Real estate uses separate routes.
Small estate affidavit Illinois
Illinois allows a small estate affidavit for a personal estate of $150,000 or less for deaths on or after August 15, 2025. It was $100,000 before. Registered vehicles are left out of the count, and the statute sets no waiting period. The vehicle rule narrows for deaths on or after January 1, 2027.
Small estate affidavit Florida
Florida's $150,000 figure is for summary administration, which is a court process and not a bank affidavit. It took effect July 1, 2026, and applies with no value limit if the person died more than two years ago. Florida's affidavits are much smaller: $2,000 for bank funds and $20,000 for some intestate estates of personal property.
Small estate affidavit Arizona
Arizona's affidavit covers personal property up to $200,000, net of liens, after 30 days. Real estate has a separate affidavit up to $300,000 that is filed in court after six months. Both figures took effect September 26, 2025.
Small estate affidavit Indiana
Indiana allows an affidavit for a gross probate estate of $100,000 or less for deaths after June 30, 2022, less liens, encumbrances and reasonable funeral expenses. You wait 45 days and must notify the people named in the affidavit.
Small estate affidavit North Carolina
North Carolina allows collection by affidavit for small estates of $20,000, or $30,000 if the spouse is the sole heir, after 30 days. The affidavit is filed with the clerk of court. Our survey figure for this state has not yet been checked against the statute, so confirm with the court.
Small estate affidavit Tennessee
Tennessee no longer uses a simple affidavit. It uses a sworn petition for Limited Letters for personal property of $50,000 or less, after 45 days. The court clerk issues the letters, and real estate isn't part of it.
Small estate affidavit Ohio
Ohio handles small estates through a court process called release from administration. Our survey lists $35,000, or $100,000 if the spouse takes everything. Confirm the current figure and the process with the probate court.
Small estate affidavit Washington
Washington allows a small estate affidavit for a probate estate of $100,000 or less, less liens, after 40 days. You must give written notice to the other successors at least 10 days before using it and mail a copy to the Department of Social and Health Services. Real estate counts toward the limit but can't be transferred by the affidavit.
The Real Estate Trap
Real estate is where small estate rules differ most, so check your state’s pattern before you count on an affidavit to move a house.
Some states disqualify the whole estate if the person owned any real estate in their own name.
Pattern 1: any real estate disqualifies the estate. Delaware, Iowa, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Michigan (for the affidavit), Rhode Island, West Virginia and Alabama work this way.
Pattern 2: excluded from the transfer, but counted. Indiana, Washington, North Dakota, Utah and South Carolina count the real estate toward the limit but can’t transfer it by affidavit. A few states, such as Illinois, Virginia and Pennsylvania, leave it out of the count too.
Pattern 3: a separate real-estate procedure. Arizona allows up to $300,000 after six months. California has a $69,625 affidavit with a six-month wait and a petition for the primary residence up to $750,000. Nebraska and South Dakota also have separate affidavits.
Pattern 4: the same procedure. Arkansas, Oregon, Wisconsin, New Jersey and Florida’s summary administration can include real estate. Texas allows only the homestead.
An affidavit of heirship is different from a small estate affidavit. It records who the heirs are so the county land records reflect it, and it doesn’t work the same way in every state.
Talk to a probate attorney before you transfer any real estate. For shared inheritances, see inheriting a house with siblings.
Do You Need Probate If There’s a Will?
A will does not keep an estate out of probate, and most states allow the small estate affidavit with or without one, but Texas, New Jersey’s affidavit track, and Georgia limit their shortcut to estates without a will.
A will only says who inherits. To collect the property you still need legal authority, and a small estate affidavit gives named heirs that authority for small amounts.
Most states allow the affidavit either way. Virginia expects the will to be filed with the circuit court, Iowa and Washington forms ask for it, and Louisiana uses separate forms for estates with a will.
Texas’s instructions say a small estate affidavit can’t be used if there is a will. New Jersey’s statute covers intestate estates, and Georgia’s court route is for estates without a will.
How Long After Death Can You File?
Most states make you wait 30 to 45 days after the death, but a handful have no wait and a few require 60 days or more.
Thirty days is the most common. California, Iowa, Nevada and Washington use 40, Arkansas, Indiana and Tennessee use 45, Michigan uses 28, and Colorado and Oklahoma use 10.
Hawaii, Kansas, Illinois, Louisiana and New York set no waiting period in the statute. D.C. and Virginia require 60 days. Real property in California and Arizona needs six months.
In Alabama and Connecticut, the clock runs from notice rather than from the date of death.
Many statutes set a minimum wait but no outer deadline for the affidavit. Other clocks can still run, including creditor claim deadlines, so don’t let it sit.
How to Use a Small Estate Affidavit, Step by Step
Gather the paperwork, total only what is in the person’s name alone, wait out the waiting period, and use your state court’s official form.
- Get several certified copies of the death certificate.
- List what the person owned and separate anything with a beneficiary, a joint owner, or a trust.
- Total the rest at its value on the date of death. The calculator above can help.
- Confirm that no probate case is open and find out whether there is a will.
- Wait out your state’s waiting period.
- Get your state court’s official form from its self-help center. Don’t use a generic form with an old figure.
- Complete it carefully. You sign under penalty of perjury, and some states require a notary.
- Give any required notices: to other heirs, and in some states to an agency. Alabama requires notice to Medicaid, Washington requires a copy to DSHS, and Wisconsin requires notice to the state.
- File it with the court if your state requires that, or present it to the holder. Keep copies of everything.
If the Bank Says No
If a bank refuses your small estate affidavit, ask for the refusal in writing, find out why, and escalate to its estate services or legal department before you spend money on a lawyer.
First check whether the refusal is legitimate. Banks can have good reasons:
- The form is wrong or outdated.
- The waiting period isn’t over.
- A probate case is already open.
- The figures are over the limit.
- The account has a POD beneficiary, so it isn’t yours to collect under the affidavit.
- A notarization or court stamp is missing.
Show This to the Bank
What to bring
A certified death certificate. Your photo ID. The completed state court form for this procedure, notarized if your state requires it. Any court-stamped copy your state requires, such as a judge-approved affidavit in Texas or a court-filed one in New York or Massachusetts. Proof that the waiting period has passed.
What to say
I’m the successor of [name] under [state]’s small estate procedure, [statute]. The waiting period has passed, the estate is within the state limit for the date of death, and no personal representative has been appointed. State law protects a holder that pays on a valid affidavit. Can you tell me in writing what’s missing, or which department reviews these?
If they still refuse
- Ask for the refusal in writing, with the reason.
- Ask for the estate services or legal department.
- Ask whether the bank wants its own form or an indemnity. Practices vary by state and bank.
- Check your state’s remedy. In California, Probate Code § 13105(b) lets you sue to compel the transfer, and the court shall award reasonable attorney’s fees if it finds the refusal unreasonable. That is California law, not a national rule.
- If the bank still won’t move and the amount justifies it, talk to a probate attorney.
Other states have their own rules. Colorado makes a holder that refuses without reasonable cause liable for costs and attorney’s fees. D.C. and Iowa have similar fee rules. Utah lets a court award up to three times the property’s value plus fees. Wyoming awards fees if a holder withholds payment more than 45 days without just cause. Check your state’s statute.
In many states a bank that pays on a valid affidavit is discharged, as if it had paid a personal representative. That is why banks often ask for the right form: they want that protection.
Your Liability After You Sign
Signing is a sworn statement, and you stay answerable for what you received if a creditor, a later personal representative, or someone with a better claim comes forward, generally up to the value you received, with rules that vary by state.
You sign under penalty of perjury. Only report what you know to be true, and don’t sign if anything is uncertain.
Debts generally aren’t yours personally just because you’re related. But property you collect with the affidavit can be reached to pay the estate’s debts. See credit card debt after death.
Some forms also ask you to promise to indemnify the bank if someone else makes a claim. Read the form before you sign.
Several states link small estates to Medicaid estate recovery. Alabama requires notice to Medicaid, Washington requires a copy to DSHS, Wisconsin requires notice to the state, and Texas treats Medicaid recovery claims as debts of the estate. See can a nursing home take your house.
When a Small Estate Affidavit Is the Wrong Tool
A small estate affidavit is the wrong tool when there is a dispute, more debt than assets, property in another state, minor or missing heirs, or a probate case already open.
- Family members disagree about who gets what.
- The debts look larger than the assets.
- The person owned property in another state.
- An heir is a minor or can’t be found.
- Someone has already opened a probate case.
- Real estate needs to be transferred.
In those cases, talk to a probate attorney. See estate planning attorney. If you are planning ahead rather than settling an estate, see the estate planning guide.
Small Estate Affidavit vs. Summary Administration vs. Full Probate
An affidavit is the lightest option, summary administration is a middle court process, and full probate is the most involved.
| Procedure | Court involvement | Typical timeline | Real estate | Who signs | Cost range |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Small estate affidavit | Often none; some states file it with a clerk or need a judge's approval | A few weeks after the waiting period ends | Usually can't transfer it | The successor, under penalty of perjury | Usually a notary fee and copies |
| Summary administration (court process) | A petition and a court order | Often a few months | Often can be included | The petitioner, with court filings | Court filing fees, plus any attorney fees |
| Full probate | Court supervision, notices to creditors, a personal representative | Commonly six months to a year, longer if contested | Yes | The personal representative | Court costs, publication, and usually attorney fees; varies widely |
Procedure: Small estate affidavit
Court involvement: Often none; some states file it with a clerk or need a judge's approval
Typical timeline: A few weeks after the waiting period ends
Real estate: Usually can't transfer it
Who signs: The successor, under penalty of perjury
Cost range: Usually a notary fee and copies
Procedure: Summary administration (court process)
Court involvement: A petition and a court order
Typical timeline: Often a few months
Real estate: Often can be included
Who signs: The petitioner, with court filings
Cost range: Court filing fees, plus any attorney fees
Procedure: Full probate
Court involvement: Court supervision, notices to creditors, a personal representative
Typical timeline: Commonly six months to a year, longer if contested
Real estate: Yes
Who signs: The personal representative
Cost range: Court costs, publication, and usually attorney fees; varies widely
Frequently Asked Questions
What is considered a small estate?
A small estate is one whose probate assets fall at or under your state's dollar limit. Only property in the person's name alone counts, so accounts with a named beneficiary, joint accounts with survivorship, and trust assets are usually left out.
How much can an estate be without probate?
It depends on the state, from about $15,000 in Rhode Island to $400,000 in Wyoming. Some states use a sworn affidavit, and others use a lighter court process. See the table above for your state.
What are the small estate affidavit limits by state in 2026?
More than a dozen states raised their figures in 2025 or 2026. Use the 51-jurisdiction table and the calculator above, and check the figure for the date of death.
Do bank accounts with a beneficiary count toward the limit?
Usually not. A POD or TOD account passes to the named beneficiary, who claims it directly from the bank.
Does life insurance count?
Life insurance with a named beneficiary usually doesn't count. If the policy is payable to the estate, it does.
Does a car count?
It depends on your state. Illinois and Hawaii leave registered vehicles out of the count, and many states have a separate DMV form for transferring a car.
Does a joint bank account go through probate?
Usually not. A joint account with survivorship belongs to the surviving owner, who can ask the bank to retitle it.
Can a small estate affidavit transfer a house?
Often not. Some states disqualify the whole estate if the person owned real estate, some can't transfer it by affidavit, and some have a separate real property procedure. See the real estate section, and talk to a probate attorney before moving a house.
Can I use a small estate affidavit if there's a will?
In most states, yes. Texas, New Jersey's affidavit track, and Georgia limit their shortcut to estates without a will. Virginia expects a will to be filed with the circuit court.
How long after death can I file?
Most states set a waiting period of 30 to 45 days, but a few have none and a few require 60 days or more. Many statutes set no outer deadline for the affidavit, but creditor deadlines and other clocks can still run, so don't let it sit.
Do I need a lawyer?
Not for a straightforward affidavit in most states, but talk to a probate attorney if there is a dispute, more debt than assets, property in another state, minor or missing heirs, or any real estate transfer.
Does it have to be notarized?
Many states and banks require it, and some forms say so. Iowa's statute doesn't require a notary, though many banks ask for one. Check your state's form.
Do I file it with a court?
It depends. Texas requires a judge's approval, New York and Massachusetts use court filings, and California, Colorado and Washington let you give the affidavit straight to the holder.
What if the bank won't accept it?
Ask for the refusal in writing, ask for the estate services or legal department, and check your state's remedy. See the bank section above.
Am I personally liable for the deceased person's debts?
Debts generally aren't yours just because you're related. But if you collect property with an affidavit, you generally stay answerable to creditors, a later personal representative, or someone with a better claim, usually up to the value you received. Rules vary by state.
What if I later find more assets and the total goes over the limit?
Stop and talk to a probate attorney. You swore to the value you knew about, and some states look at the value at any time since the death. You may need a court process.
Can I use a power of attorney instead?
No. A power of attorney ends at death and can’t be used to close the account. See power of attorney.
What's the Texas small estate affidavit limit?
$75,000, not counting the homestead and exempt property. A judge must approve the affidavit, and it can't be used if there is a will.
What's the California small estate limit in 2026?
$208,850 for deaths on or after April 1, 2025. There is no 2026 change, and the next adjustment is April 1, 2028. Some websites show a higher number, but the Judicial Council's published list says otherwise.
What changed in Florida in July 2026?
Chapter 2026-57 raised summary administration from $75,000 to $150,000, raised disposition without administration from $10,000 to $20,000 for intestate estates of personal property only, and raised the bank-funds affidavit from $1,000 to $2,000. Summary administration is a court process.
Sources
Official sources used for the figures above:
- Judicial Council of California, Probate Code 890 Adjusted Amounts
- Florida Senate, CS/HB 1337 summary (Chapter 2026-57)
- Louisiana Legislature, Act 293 (2026) digest
- Delaware, 85 Del. Laws ch. 281
- Iowa, House File 2660 (2026)
- Illinois, 755 ILCS 5/25-1
- Texas Estates Code chapter 205
- North Dakota, House Bill 1224 (2025)
- South Carolina, H.3472 (2025)
- D.C. Code § 20-361
For every other state, use that state’s statute and its court self-help page.
Last updated:
This article is general information, not legal advice. State figures and procedures were verified on October 20, 2026 and change frequently. The affidavit is signed under penalty of perjury. Consult your state court self-help center or a probate attorney about your situation.

Daniel Hayes is the founder and sole researcher at AdvoraHQ. He covers U.S. personal finance, insurance, and consumer law — working directly from IRS publications, federal and state statutes, court opinions, and SEC filings rather than secondary summaries. His focus is the gap between what readers think they know and what the source documents actually say. Daniel is not a licensed attorney, CPA, or financial advisor; his articles are educational and not personalized advice. Reach him at Daniel.Hayes@advorahq.com.
