Bronze, Silver, or Gold for 2027? The Total-Cost Math, the Silver Discount Most People Miss, and Why Bronze Now Comes With an HSA

Bronze, Silver, and Gold health insurance plan comparison cards beside an HSA savings account, calculator, stethoscope, and total-cost worksheet illustrating health insurance premiums, out-of-pocket expenses, and healthcare savings for 2027.
Health Insurance

Bronze, Silver, or Gold for 2027? The Total-Cost Math, the Silver Discount Most People Miss, and Why Bronze Now Comes With an HSA

October 28, 2026

QUICK ANSWER

Pick the tier with the lowest total yearly cost for how you expect to use care, not the lowest premium. If your income is up to 250% of the poverty level, look at Silver first: it is the only tier with cost-sharing reductions. If you are healthy and want to save for medical costs tax-free, Marketplace Bronze plans now qualify for an HSA.

DEADLINE

HealthCare.gov: enroll by December 15, 2026 for coverage on January 1. Open enrollment runs to January 15, 2027. State exchanges may differ.

Compare your plans’ total yearly cost →
Check if you qualify for Silver’s discount →

Rules verified October 28, 2026. Full 2027 plans and prices are confirmed when open enrollment starts November 1.

Total Yearly Cost Calculator

Enter the numbers from up to three plans. You can find them on each plan’s Summary of Benefits and Coverage. Leave a plan blank to skip it.

Bronze plan
Silver plan
Gold plan

The $500 and $5,000 presets are illustrations, not predictions. “Covered care” means in-network charges the plan counts, before insurance pays.

Bronze with an HSA (optional)

2027 Open Enrollment Dates: The Correct Ones

On HealthCare.gov, enrollment for 2027 runs November 1, 2026 to January 15, 2027, and December 15 is the deadline for coverage that starts January 1.

THE RULES

A 2025 federal rule would have ended HealthCare.gov enrollment on December 15 starting with 2027 coverage. A federal court in Maryland vacated that provision in June 2026.

CMS then confirmed in an August 4, 2026 statement that open enrollment at the federal exchange begins November 1, 2026 and ends January 15, 2027. The government has appealed to the 4th Circuit, so dates could be revisited for later years.

MarketplaceWindowDeadline for Jan. 1 coverageSource
HealthCare.gov statesNov. 1, 2026 to Jan. 15, 2027Dec. 15, 2026. Plans chosen Dec. 16 to Jan. 15 start Feb. 1.HealthCare.gov; CMS statement, Aug. 4, 2026
California (Covered California)Nov. 1, 2026 to Jan. 31, 2027Dec. 31, 2026Covered California
Idaho (Your Health Idaho)Oct. 15 to Dec. 15, 2026Dec. 15, 2026 (the window closes that day)Your Health Idaho
Massachusetts (Health Connector)Oct. 23, 2026 to Jan. 23, 2027Select a plan and pay by Dec. 23, 2026Health Connector
New JerseyNov. 1, 2026 to Jan. 31, 2027Not stated on the source page. Confirm with the exchange.NJ Dept. of Banking and Insurance, Bulletin 26-07
VirginiaNov. 1, 2026 to Jan. 29, 2027Not stated on the source page. Confirm with the exchange.Virginia’s Insurance Marketplace
Dates taken from each exchange’s own page, checked October 28, 2026. Other state exchanges set their own dates. Confirm yours on your exchange’s site.

YOUR CHOICE

If you use HealthCare.gov, treat December 15 as your deadline. It is the only date that guarantees January 1 coverage, and you must pay the first premium for coverage to start.

In Idaho and Massachusetts, enrollment is already open, so you can shop today.

Bronze vs. Silver vs. Gold, in One Table

The metal tier tells you how costs are split between you and the plan, not how good the care is: Bronze plans pay about 60% of average costs, Silver about 70%, and Gold about 80%.

THE RULES

Every Marketplace plan covers the same essential health benefits. The percentages are averages across a standard population, not a prediction of your bill. Platinum (about 90%) exists but is rarely offered.

For 2027 the federal cap on out-of-pocket costs is $12,000 for one person and $24,000 for a family plan. A rule that would have raised the cap for some Bronze plans was put on hold by a court on July 16, 2026, per CMS’s August 4 statement. For deductible and out-of-pocket basics, see how health insurance works.

Bronze

Plan pays: about 60% on average.

Who it fits: people who expect little care, want the lowest monthly premium, or want to pair a plan with an HSA.

Typical trade-off: the highest deductible, so you pay most costs early in the year.

Watch out: a big year can mean paying the full out-of-pocket maximum, up to $12,000 for one person in 2027.

Silver

Plan pays: about 70%, or 73%, 87%, or 94% with cost-sharing reductions.

Who it fits: anyone with income up to 250% of the poverty level, and some people who want a middle option.

Typical trade-off: a higher premium than Bronze, often inflated by silver loading.

Watch out: without the discount, Silver is often not the best value. Compare it with Gold.

Gold

Plan pays: about 80% on average.

Who it fits: people with regular care, ongoing prescriptions, or a known big year, especially when Gold is priced close to Silver.

Typical trade-off: the highest premium of the three, with the lowest deductible.

Watch out: Gold plans generally are not HSA-eligible. Check the premium gap after your credit.

TierPlan pays (approx.)PremiumDeductibleBest forWatch out
Bronze60%LowestHighestLow expected use, tight monthly budget, or an HSAA big year means paying up to the out-of-pocket maximum ($12,000 for one person in 2027)
Silver70% (73%, 87%, or 94% with cost-sharing reductions)Middle, often raised by silver loadingModerate; much lower with the discountIncome up to 250% of the poverty level; moderate useWithout the discount, often not the best value
Gold80%HigherLowest of the threeRegular care, prescriptions, or when priced close to Silver after your creditCheck the premium gap after credit; generally not HSA-eligible
Platinum90%HighestLowestHeavy, predictable useRarely offered; availability varies by area
Approximate actuarial values from federal rules. Dated October 28, 2026.

Total Yearly Cost: The Only Comparison That Matters

Total yearly cost is the premiums you pay over 12 months plus what you pay for care, so the plan with the lowest premium is not always the cheapest year.

Compare total yearly cost, not premium.

Total = (monthly premium x 12) + your out-of-pocket costs. Your out-of-pocket costs are the smaller of the plan’s out-of-pocket maximum or your deductible plus your coinsurance share of the rest.

THE RULES

The out-of-pocket maximum is a ceiling on covered, in-network care for the year. Premiums do not count toward it, and out-of-network care generally does not either.

YOUR PLAN’S TERMS

Deductible, coinsurance, copays, out-of-pocket maximum, network, and drug formulary all sit on the plan’s Summary of Benefits and Coverage. The calculator needs the first four.

YOUR CHOICE

Pick a light, moderate, or big year, then compare the totals. Three illustrations follow. The plans are made up and are not real products.

Illustrative plans after your tax credit. Bronze: $120 a month, $7,500 deductible, $10,000 out-of-pocket maximum, 30% coinsurance. Silver: $270 a month, $4,500 deductible, $8,500 maximum, 30% coinsurance. Gold: $300 a month, $1,500 deductible, $6,000 maximum, 20% coinsurance.

Light year (about $500 of care)

Bronze: $1,440 premiums + $500 care = $1,940. Silver: $3,240 + $500 = $3,740. Gold: $3,600 + $500 = $4,100.

Bronze costs least when you barely use care.

Moderate year (about $5,000 of care)

Bronze: $1,440 + $5,000 = $6,440. Silver: $3,240 + $4,650 = $7,890. Gold: $3,600 + $2,200 = $5,800.

Gold wins here, and Silver is the most expensive.

Big year (you reach the out-of-pocket maximum)

Bronze: $1,440 + $10,000 = $11,440. Silver: $3,240 + $8,500 = $11,740. Gold: $3,600 + $6,000 = $9,600.

The worst-case gap between Bronze and Gold is $1,840 in this illustration.

Check your doctors and prescriptions before you pick.

The cheapest total is the wrong plan if your doctor is out of network or your drug is not covered. Network type is a separate choice; see HMO vs. PPO.

The Silver Discount: Cost-Sharing Reductions

Cost-sharing reductions (CSR) lower your deductible, copays, and out-of-pocket maximum, and you get them only by choosing a Silver plan when your household income is up to 250% of the federal poverty level.

CSR only comes with Silver.

If you qualify and pick Bronze or Gold, you give the discount up. The premium tax credit still applies to any tier except Catastrophic.

THE RULES

CSR is separate from the premium tax credit. It raises what a Silver plan pays from about 70% to roughly 73%, 87%, or 94%, depending on income. You generally must also qualify for the premium tax credit, so an affordable job-based offer can rule you out.

The 2027 income bands are set by the CMS payment parameters guidance. They use the 2026 poverty guidelines, published by HHS in the Federal Register.

100% to 150% of the poverty level

Silver 94. The plan pays about 94%. Out-of-pocket maximum capped at $4,000 for one person, $8,000 for a family plan.

Over 150% to 200%

Silver 87. The plan pays about 87%. Out-of-pocket maximum capped at $4,000 for one person, $8,000 for a family plan.

Over 200% to 250%

Silver 73. The plan pays about 73%. Out-of-pocket maximum capped at $9,600 for one person, $19,200 for a family plan.

Over 250%

No cost-sharing reductions. A standard Silver plan pays about 70%, with the regular cap of $12,000 for one person.

In Medicaid-expansion states, adults under about 138% of the poverty level are generally directed to Medicaid. Below 100%, Marketplace credits and CSR generally are not available.

Income (% FPL)Silver variantEffectNote
100 to 150Silver 94Plan pays about 94%. Out-of-pocket maximum capped at $4,000 (one person) or $8,000 (family plan).In expansion states, income under about 138% usually means Medicaid.
Over 150 to 200Silver 87Plan pays about 87%. Capped at $4,000 or $8,000.Same cap as Silver 94.
Over 200 to 250Silver 73Plan pays about 73%. Capped at $9,600 or $19,200.Smaller discount, still worth comparing.
Over 250NoneStandard Silver pays about 70%. Regular cap of $12,000 or $24,000.Compare tiers by total cost.
Source: CMS 2027 payment parameters guidance, January 29, 2026. Dated October 28, 2026. Below 100% FPL, credits and CSR generally are not available.

YOUR PLAN’S TERMS

What 150%, 200%, and 250% mean in dollars: for one person in the 48 states and DC, the $15,960 guideline puts them at $23,940, $31,920, and $39,900. For a family of four, 250% is $82,500.

Alaska and Hawaii use higher guidelines. The check below handles all three regions.

YOUR CHOICE

Take the same illustrative Silver plan from the last section, but with the Silver 94 variant: a $500 deductible, a $3,500 out-of-pocket maximum, and 10% coinsurance, at the same $270 premium. In the moderate year its total is $3,240 + $950 = $4,190, which beats all three plans above. These numbers are made up.

Note: 2027 subsidy rules for immigrants have narrowed. Check your status on HealthCare.gov. For where the 400% limit sits, see our 2027 ACA income guide and the subsidy cliff explainer.

CSR Eligibility Check

Enter your expected 2027 household income (MAGI, roughly your adjusted gross income plus a few add-backs). Nothing you type is saved or sent anywhere.

Silver Loading: Why Gold or Bronze Can Cost Less After Your Credit

In many areas, insurers price the unfunded cost of cost-sharing reductions into Silver premiums, and because your tax credit is tied to Silver, that can make Bronze very cheap and Gold close to or below Silver after the credit.

THE RULES

The federal government stopped paying insurers for CSR in October 2017. Insurers must still provide the discount, so in most states they added the cost to Silver premiums.

The premium tax credit is based on the second-lowest-cost Silver plan in your area, called the benchmark. A higher benchmark means a larger credit, and you can apply that credit to any tier.

Illustration (made-up numbers)

Benchmark Silver lists at $600 a month. Your expected contribution is $200, so your credit is $400. Bronze lists at $380 and costs $0 after the credit. Gold lists at $560 and costs $160, which is less than the benchmark Silver at $200.

YOUR PLAN’S TERMS

On the plan screen, sort by premium after credit and compare Silver and Gold side by side. Then look at deductibles, out-of-pocket maximums, doctors, and drugs.

YOUR CHOICE

Silver loading only helps if you get a credit. Without one, whether because you are over the income limit or buy off-exchange, you pay the loaded Silver premium and gain nothing from it. The enhanced credits ended after 2025; our income guide covers the current limits.

Bronze Plans and HSAs: The 2026 Law Change

Since January 1, 2026, Bronze and Catastrophic plans available through an Exchange are treated as HSA-eligible high-deductible plans, even when their deductibles or out-of-pocket maximums don’t meet the usual HDHP rules.

Bronze through the Marketplace now pairs with an HSA.

Section 71307 of the One Big Beautiful Bill Act made the change. The IRS explained how it works in Notice 2026-5.

THE RULES

Notice 2026-5 says a Bronze or Catastrophic plan bought off-exchange also qualifies if the same plan is sold on an Exchange. The IRS added a safe harbor if you reasonably believed your plan was on an Exchange. SHOP Bronze plans generally do not qualify.

For 2027 the HSA limits are $4,500 for self-only coverage and $9,000 for family coverage, plus $1,000 if you are 55 or older, per Rev. Proc. 2026-24.

RequirementWhat it means
Exchange planA Bronze or Catastrophic plan available as individual coverage through an Exchange. Off-exchange counts if the same plan is on an Exchange.
No other disqualifying coverageOther health coverage that pays before the deductible, such as a spouse’s non-HDHP plan or a general-purpose FSA, can disqualify you.
Not enrolled in MedicareYou cannot contribute once you are enrolled in Medicare.
Not claimed as a dependentSomeone else’s tax return cannot claim you.
2027 limits$4,500 self-only, $9,000 family, plus $1,000 catch-up at 55 or older.
Catastrophic plansAlso treated as HSA-eligible. Buyers 30 or older generally need a hardship or affordability exemption certificate, and tax credits cannot be used on them.
Sources: IRS Notice 2026-5 and Rev. Proc. 2026-24; HealthCare.gov for Catastrophic eligibility. Dated October 28, 2026.

YOUR PLAN’S TERMS

Confirm with the plan that it is HSA-eligible before you open an account. Some insurers’ welcome materials lag behind the law.

Silver plans with cost-sharing reductions usually have deductibles outside the HDHP rules, so they are generally not HSA-eligible. Bronze with an HSA and Silver with CSR are usually an either-or choice.

YOUR CHOICE

HSA contributions made on your own are deductible. A $3,000 contribution at a 22% combined rate saves about $660 in income tax, as an illustration. It does not save payroll or self-employment tax.

The deduction also lowers your MAGI, which can change your premium tax credit. See our income guide, and for HSA mechanics, HSA accounts and HSA vs. FSA.

Bronze plans are popular: CMS reports 40% of 2026 enrollees chose Bronze, up 10 points from 2025, when Bronze was about 30% of selections.

Who Each Tier Fits

The right tier to compare first depends on your income and how much care you expect, and every row below still needs a network and drug check.

If you are self-employed or without a job, see self-employed health insurance costs and health insurance without a job.

SituationTier to compare firstWhyCheck
Income up to 250% of the poverty levelSilver (CSR variant)Only tier with cost-sharing reductionsYour band; compare with Bronze only if you rarely use care; your doctors and drugs
Healthy, rarely uses careBronzeLowest premium; HSA possibleWorst case is the out-of-pocket maximum; your doctors and drugs
Wants to save pre-tax for medical costsBronze with an HSAExchange Bronze is HSA-eligibleNo disqualifying coverage; MAGI effect; your doctors and drugs
Regular visits or prescriptions, income over 250%GoldLower deductible; sometimes close to Silver after creditPremium gap after credit; drug tiers and your doctors
Known big year, such as surgery or a pregnancyGold or CSR SilverYou are likely to reach the out-of-pocket maximumCompare worst-case totals; hospital in network; your drugs
Income over 400% of the poverty levelCompare all tiersNo premium tax credit, so silver loading does not helpFull-price premiums; your doctors and drugs
Variable self-employed or gig incomeUse a cautious income estimateExcess credit may need full repayment at tax timeUpdate income during the year; your doctors and drugs
General guidance, not advice for your situation. Dated October 28, 2026.

Why You Shouldn’t Just Auto-Renew

Auto-renewal keeps you in a plan, but the price, network, drug list, and your credit can all change on January 1, so last year’s best plan may not be this year’s.

THE RULES

If your insurer leaves the Marketplace, the exchange uses an algorithm to pick a replacement plan, and you are better off choosing your own. As of October 7, 2026, 11 insurers had announced exits from the Marketplaces for 2027, per KFF.

The median proposed rate increase for 2027 is 15%, per KFF. The enhanced credits also ended after 2025.

YOUR PLAN’S TERMS

Your renewal notice shows next year’s premium and, if you get a credit, your price after credit. Check the deductible, out-of-pocket maximum, network, and formulary for any changes.

YOUR CHOICE

Compare at least one plan in each tier, even if you plan to keep your current one. It takes a few minutes and can change which plan is cheapest.

Open-Enrollment Checklist

Ten steps cover the whole process, and you can copy the list to your notes.

  1. Update your 2027 income estimate. Since tax year 2026 there is no cap on repaying excess credit. See our income guide.
  2. Log in by December 15 for January 1 coverage on HealthCare.gov.
  3. Don’t auto-renew blindly. Compare at least one plan in each tier.
  4. Check your doctors in each plan’s network.
  5. Check your prescriptions on each formulary and their tier.
  6. Compare total yearly cost in the calculator above.
  7. If income is up to 250% of the poverty level, compare Silver first.
  8. Choosing Bronze? Open or fund an HSA and confirm eligibility. See HSA accounts.
  9. Pay the first premium. Coverage doesn’t start without it.
  10. Save your confirmation and eligibility notice.

FAQ

What’s the difference between Bronze, Silver, and Gold?

The tier sets how costs are split. Bronze plans pay about 60% of average costs, Silver about 70%, and Gold about 80%. All cover the same essential health benefits.

Is a Bronze plan worth it?

It can be if you expect little care and the total, including the worst case, still works for you. Run the calculator, and check your doctors and drugs first.

Is Silver better than Bronze?

It is better if you qualify for cost-sharing reductions or if Silver is priced low after your credit. Otherwise it often lands in the middle on total cost.

When is Gold worth the higher premium?

When you expect regular care or a big year, or when silver loading makes Gold close to or below Silver after your credit.

What are cost-sharing reductions?

They are discounts that lower your deductible, copays, and out-of-pocket maximum. You get them only on Silver plans, for household income up to 250% of the poverty level.

Who qualifies for a Silver 94 plan?

Households with income from 100% to 150% of the poverty level who qualify for the premium tax credit. In expansion states, adults under about 138% are usually directed to Medicaid first.

What happens if I pick Bronze when I qualify for CSR?

You give up the discount, because CSR comes only with Silver. You keep the premium tax credit. You generally can’t switch tiers mid-year without a special enrollment period.

Can I use my tax credit on any tier?

Yes, on Bronze, Silver, Gold, or Platinum, but not on Catastrophic plans. The amount is based on the second-lowest-cost Silver plan in your area.

Why is a Gold plan cheaper than Silver in my area?

Silver loading. Insurers add CSR costs to Silver premiums, which raises the benchmark and your credit, and can leave Gold priced at or below Silver after the credit.

What is silver loading?

It is insurers pricing the unfunded cost of cost-sharing reductions into Silver premiums, which began after federal CSR payments stopped in October 2017.

Can I have a $0 premium plan?

In some areas, yes, most often on Bronze after the credit. A $0 premium doesn’t mean $0 for care, so check the deductible and out-of-pocket maximum.

Are Bronze plans HSA-eligible now?

Yes. Since January 1, 2026, Bronze plans available through an Exchange are treated as HSA-eligible, and that continues in 2027. Other HSA rules still apply.

Are Catastrophic plans HSA-eligible?

Yes, if available through an Exchange. But buyers 30 or older generally need a hardship or affordability exemption, and tax credits cannot be used on them.

What are the 2027 HSA contribution limits?

$4,500 for self-only coverage and $9,000 for family coverage, plus $1,000 if you are 55 or older, per IRS Rev. Proc. 2026-24.

When does open enrollment end for 2027?

January 15, 2027 on HealthCare.gov. Some state exchanges end later, and Idaho ends December 15.

What’s the last day to enroll for January 1 coverage?

December 15, 2026 on HealthCare.gov. Some state exchanges differ; Covered California’s is December 31 and Massachusetts’ is December 23.

Will my plan renew automatically?

Usually, if your plan is still offered. If your insurer is leaving, the exchange picks a replacement. Compare options either way.

Can I change tiers mid-year?

Generally no. You can change plans during open enrollment or with a special enrollment period after a qualifying life event.

Sources

HealthCare.gov: dates and deadlines. CMS statement, Aug. 4, 2026. CMS 2027 payment parameters guidance. IRS Notice 2026-5. IRS Rev. Proc. 2026-24. HHS poverty guidelines, Federal Register, Jan. 15, 2026. CMS 2026 open enrollment report. KFF: 2027 premium changes. KFF: 2027 insurer exits. State exchange pages are linked in the dates table.

Last updated: .

This article is general information, not insurance, tax, or medical advice. HealthCare.gov or your state exchange makes eligibility determinations. Rules and dates were verified on October 28, 2026 and can change.

Leave Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Reach the Editor
AdvoraHQ

AdvoraHQ Editorial

Online

Welcome to AdvoraHQ. We decode complex financial concepts—from tax strategies to market investing—using strictly primary sources and deep research.

Got a specific question, a topic request, or feedback on our research? We'd love to hear from you.

Email the Editor